Free Fun Week 2 – Road Trip

26 01 2010

For those of you who read last week’s Free Fun Adventure, you will know that I felt a road-trip coming on, read on to see where I went!

Now I should explain that this weekend by partner is in Adelaide, he is a mad keen cyclist and has gone to Tour Down Under to watch his “heroes” in action as well as cycle one leg of the tour – crazy if you ask me.

Anyway, faced with being home alone (we don’t have any children), I called my friend who lives in Cooroy in the Noosa Hinterland – a gorgeous part of the world – to see what she was up to this week!

Fast forward to Saturday – with the arrangement made that I would meet her after she finished work at 4pm and stay the night.  Now, no self-respecting guest would go without a hostess gift – so how can I do this for free (or at last super cheap)?  I decided to make a Fruit Slice, which is super easy and only has 5 ingredients that most pantry’s would have (I have included the recipe below).  So with Slice made and a bottle of wine left over from Christmas I head north.

As I had until 4pm to meet her and all day at my disposal I decided to stop off at Sunshine Beach for a while, after all it is a gorgeous day.  I spend a couple of hours once again reading a book – (still the non-work-related-book I was reading in Week 1 “The Persimmon Tree” by Bryce Courtney, 700 odd pages) and had a quick dip!

I head up to Cooroy at the appointed hour and spend the remainder of the afternoon and evening lounging around chatting, eating and generally relaxing and have a good time.

On Sunday morning we all decide to head back down to Noosa for an early morning swim (two beach visits in two days – nice one), followed by Breakfast at the Surf Club.  OK problem, this Adventure is supposed to be free – right?  At the risk of sounding like a wet-blanket I suggest that we take a picnic breakfast instead and have more time at the beach – this suggestion was happily accepted so off we went!

We had a lovely time, lots of laugh and yes lots of FUN.

So why don’t you “invite yourself” to a friend or family member’s home for an afternoon or evening, take inexpensive food and re-connecting with friends and family – it’s fun.

Now for the recipe I promised.

Fruit Slice

Ingredients

1 Cup Brown Sugar

1 Beaten Egg

125g Butter

1 ½ Cups of Self-Raising Flour

1 Cup of Mixed Fruit (although just plain sultanas and/or nuts would work just fine)

Method

Pre-heat oven to 180

Boil together the brown sugar and butter, and take it immediately off the heat once boiling point is reached

Place flour, fruit and the egg in a bowl

Pour in brown sugar and butter mix

And thoroughly mix

Press the mixture into a slice tin (or a lamington tin will work just as well).

Bake for 20mins

Allow to cool slightly before cutting into slices.

Enjoy! – Adele Blair – GreenAppleOrganising

Actions

Information

One response

7 02 2010
michellehouse

Adele…! This slice is fantastic! Friday night I was getting that feeling for something sweet and I remembered this recipe. I raced to the cupboard to find that I did have all the ingredients and I whipped it up in no time! It was so easy, cost nothing and satisfied the craving. Another great way to save money!

Leave a Reply

